'Jeopardy!' GOAT: Winner Ken Jennings is the 'Greatest of All Time'

Jennings left said Trebek had a deeper understanding of the game than most people realized

Jennings left said Trebek had a deeper understanding of the game than most people realized

That answer finally got its question - who is Ken Jennings? - as the iconic game show's epic tournament came to an end on Tuesday.

Jennings has been competing against fellow "Jeopardy" icons James Holzhauer and Brad Rutter as part of the special tournament which airs on ABC at 8 p.m. EST.

Jennings' win Tuesday night was marked by some big-time gambles in the first half.

And if Ken Jennings, who won two of last week's three matches, wins again tonight, the series will be over and the all-time champ will be crowned the "Jeopardy!". Ken walks away with $1 million and unlimited bragging rights.

Rutter and Holzhauer each receive $250,000 for playing in the "GOAT" tournament. Rutter has won more money than anyone in the game's history.

In the second round, Rutter hit the second Daily Double of the episode-and lost it all when he bet everything on the answer "Who is Faraday?" instead of "James Clerk Maxwell" to the clue, "One of Britain's greatest minds was this 19th century physicist and author of A Treatise on Electricity and Magnetism". During his attention-grabbing 32-game streak a year ago, Holzhauer racked up a staggering $2,712,216. Jennings, who still holds the records for longest Jeopardy! winning streak (74 games) and highest winnings total in regular-season gameplay ($2,520,700), had faced Rutter several times before.

The epic GOAT matchups followed a format "Jeopardy!" has never used before. His winnings to date are $4,688,436.

During the same game, Holzhauer sent a message to Trebek during Final Jeopardy.

The third day of the tournament was a little closer initially; Brad seemed to be catching up a few times, and he actually finished the second game of the night in second place after Ken. Before the decisive fourth game, the tournament ran for three days, with Jennings winning the first game, Holzhauer winning the second and Jennings winning the third.

Latest News