Rory McIlroy named PGA Tour Player of the Year

McIlroy voted PGA Tour Player of the Year

Rory McIlroy voted PGA's player of the year

Add another accolade to the list for Rory McIlroy.

Rory McIlroy has been voted PGA Tour player of the year over Brooks Koepka after posting the most top-10 finishes and winning the FedEx Cup.

It's the third time the Northern Irishman has taken the Jack Nicklaus Award, having scooped the honour in 2012 and 2014.

He had two other title wins during the season, with victories in The Players Championship and the Canadian Open.

A victor in 2016, McIlroy became the second player to win multiple FedExCups, following Tiger Woods, and the first player to win it along with The Players Championship in the same season.

"Rory's season was a model of consistency punctuated by milestone victories and ultimately the FedExCup in Atlanta", PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan said in a statement.

The Tour doesn't release vote totals for the Player of the Year Award and even McIlroy was denied the percentages when he asked.

Although McIlroy won three times during the 2018-19 season, including bookend victories at The Players and Tour Championship, Koepka was considered the front-runner for the award thanks to his play in the majors. This was the third year in which McIlroy won at least three events.

McIlroy suffered a last-16 exit to Tiger Woods at the WGC-Dell Match Play and failed in his latest pursuit to complete the career Grand Slam, finishing tied-21st at the Masters, before following back-to-back top-10s at Quail Hollow and Bethpage Black with his first missed cut of the year at The Memorial.

Im Sung-jae of South Korea was named the PGA Tour Rookie of the Year, lifting the renamed Arnold Palmer Award.

Latest News