South African spinner sets T20 world record by taking seven wickets

Roelof Van der Merwe took five wickets for Somerset

Roelof Van der Merwe took five wickets for Somerset

South African allrounder Colin Ackermann has set the record for best bowling figures in T20 cricket, claiming a sensational 7/18 to bowl Leicestershire Foxes to victory by 55 runs against Birmingham Bears in the 2019 Vitality T20 Blast.

Three wickets fell for two runs, with Liam Banks caught and bowled, and then Ackermann was at it again in the 17th, a further three dismissals going for three runs as his final delivery made history.

Malaysian bowler Arul Suppiah held the previous world record when he claimed 6-5 for Somerset against Glamorgan in 2011. Northamptonshire's Rob Keogh took three wickets in opposition to Durham Faheem Ashraf (2-26) and Ben Sanderson (2-29) struck early when Durham replied and, regardless of a valiant knock of 65 not out from Peter Handscomb, the guests may exclusively muster 124-Eight.Within the South Group, Michael Klinger turned Gloucestershire's all-time record T20 run-scorer as his facet ended their run of 4 video games with out a win, defeating Kent by 5 wickets in a low-scoring recreation at Bristol.SCORECARDTight bowling from the Gloucestershire seamers restricted Kent to simply 125-Eight, regardless of Daniel Bell-Drummond's knock of 62 from 56 balls.

"It's quite hard to believe, I didn't know that the record was seven wickets", the 28-year-old told BBC Radio Leicester.

"It hasn't really sunk in yet". I tried to use my height and get a bit of bounce. "I tried to get the batters to hit into the biggest part of the field into the wind and just mix my pace up a little", said the Leicester captain. "I'm a batting all-rounder".

The win sent the Foxes flying up the North Group table into fourth place, above Birmingham - who have now taken only a single point from their last four games.

"You can't take away from a great display of bowling. Colin's spell put them in the ascendancy", said Warwickshire captain Patel.

Editorial team of CricketCountry.

Latest News