Partial Lunar Eclipse on July 16 with rare celestial show

Partial Lunar eclipse occurring on 16 and 17 July will be visible from India

Representational image. Reuters

The last lunar eclipse of 2019 will be a partial eclipse of a full moon and will be visible in Cyprus on the night of July 16 and 17. When the Moon completely passes through the umbra or when the Sun, Earth, and Moon are perfectly aligned, a total lunar eclipse occurs.

What could be a better way to teach kids about lunar eclipse than to get them to experience this phenomenon first hand?

The moon will be gradually covered by the Earth's shadow and the maximum partial eclipse will occur at 3h 01m IST when about a little more than half portion of the moon will be covered by the Earth's shadow. Followed by that, it will again enter into penumbral lunar eclipse after the partial lunar eclipse ends at 4.29 am.

The entire lunar eclipse will be active for 5 hours and 34 minutes while the partial lunar eclipse will be running for a total duration of 2 hours and 58 minutes.

What is a lunar eclipse? The peak of the eclipse will be at 3:01am.

The good news is the eclipse will be mostly visible over the British Islands.

The eclipse will also be seen from places such as Turkey, Greece, Ukraine and parts of Russian Federation.

Unfortunately, this means you will miss the initial penumbral and partial eclipsing.

The eclipse begins just after the midnight of July 16th, i.e.at 12.13 a.m. on 17th morning with the moon entering into the penumbra of the Earth's shadow (less dark shadow) and ends up at 5.47 a.m. on 17th.

What time will the eclipse be visible in the UK?

When viewed from London, penumbral eclipsing will start at 7.43pm BST (6.43pm UTC), followed by partial eclipsing at 9.01pm BST (8.01pm UTC).

Latest News