Snowpiercer TV show premiering next spring on TBS

The long-gestating "Snowpiercer" series is on the move.

"Snowpiercer is the flawless show to kick-off TBS' entry into dramas with intricate storytelling, stunning visuals and first-class acting". Well, according to a press release: "Known for its culture-defining comedies, TBS will be adding dramas to its programming lineup starting with Snowpiercer".

Which brings us to today, when WarnerMedia has announced the series will premiere in the Spring of 2020 on TBS ... not TNT. TNT, meanwhile, has focused on dramas like "The Alienist" and "Animal Kingdom". The show was first put into development in 2015, ordered to pilot in 2016, and ordered to series in 2018.

Additionally, the network has announced that "Snowpiercer", a series adaptation of the 2013 film of the same name, which was originally developed and meant to air on TNT, will instead be airing on TBS. James Hawes came onboard to direct the reshoots last July.

The series, which has roughly the same plot as the movie, follows the final remnants of humanity aboard the Snowpiercer, a perpetually-moving train that circles the globe; shoes are thrown, protein bars are consumed, and there's a clash among classes.

In addition to Connelly and Diggs, Season 1 of Snowpiercer stars Alison Wright (The Americans), Mickey Sumner (Frances Ha), Susan Park (Ghostbusters), Iddo Goldberg (Peaky Blinders), Katie McGuinness (Dirty Filthy Love), Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Annalise Basso (Bedtime Stories), Sam Otto (Jellyfish), Roberto Urbina (Narcos), Sheila Vand (Argo) and Jaylin Fletcher (Saturday Church). The show continues to be a ratings success in its second season, now ranking as cable's #1 sitcom and reaching a multiplatform audience of 23 million viewers so far.

"Snowpiercer" is produced by Tomorrow Studios along with CJ Entertainment, who produced the original film. The series is executive produced by Tomorrow Studios' Marty Adelstein and Becky Clements, Manson, Hawes.

Morgan and Haddish will return for the third season, as well as series regulars Ryan Gaul, Allen Maldonado, Taylor Mosby and Dante Hoagland.

Latest News