Ricky Skerritt is new CWI president

Skerritt defeats Cameron to become new CWI president

Cameron out, Skerritt new CWI President

Sir Hilary, a former CWI director, was speaking ahead of the highly anticipated showdown yesterday between Dave Cameron and former St Kitts and Nevis government minister Ricky Skerritt for the position of CWI president.

The Kittitian had campaigned on the need for greater transparency, commitment, and the promise that his leadership style would bring about governance, performance, and principle to push West Indies cricket forward.

Donate At Caribbean News Service, we do not charge for our content and we want to keep it that way.

Cameron had to swallow the embarrassment of defeat on home turf - he is understood to have moved the CWI annual general meeting to Jamaica.

The new president was expecting a closer margin of victory. "I am indeed grateful that we were able to get eight votes and that gave us more than a one-vote margin", Skerritt said.

"We are happy that we left 123 players under contract".

"I am grateful and humbled by the support of the members of the territorial board".

Once elected, Skerritt has promised to immediately seek the reallocation of resources now used for centralized activities by CWI, to where he says it matters most- with local grassroots cricket, coaching development, and the territorial governing bodies.

The proceedings were done under the watchful eyes of global audit firm, KPMG.

According to the former TTCB (Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board) president, "Not just the last few years but for quite some time before, West Indies cricket has been in decline".

Cameron was seeking a fourth term in office after serving three two-year terms. However, although the Windward Islands Cricket Board, Barbados Cricket Board, and Guyana Cricket Board had stated publicly that they would support Cameron, the 47-year-old businessman received a big setback to remain in office after the Jamaica Cricket Association voted not to support its countryman.

The Leeward Islands Cricket Board and Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board had publicly stated that they would support Skerritt and his running mate, Dr Kishore Shallow.

On Saturday, Murray openly expressed his support to the Skerritt-Shallow team, joining former captains Sir Vivian Richards, Clive Lloyd, Darren Sammy, as well as Sir Andy Roberts and Roger Harper.

Latest News