Makinson claims Golden Boot award

Makinson has scored four tries in three England appearances

Makinson has scored four tries in three England appearances

Now the Gosford-born superstar has gone one step further in her already stellar year, claiming the women's inaugural Golden Boot award and accepting the title of the world's best female rugby league player for 2018.

The award recognises the most outstanding performance of players in worldwide matches and covered all fully sanctioned global games played from last December's World Cup final to last week's second Test between England and New Zealand.

He is only the fifth English victor of an award that was first presented in 1984 and follows in the footsteps of former national captains Ellery Hanley (1988), Garry Schofield (1990), Andy Farrell (2004) and Kevin Sinfield (2012).

The 27-year-old St Helens threequarter received his award tonight at the Rugby League International Federation dinner at Elland Road, venue for Sunday's third Test between England and New Zealand.

Leeds Rhinos legend Sinfield was the last to do so in 2012.

"I'd like to thank my family, and my friends to continuing to push me, and I'd also like to thank my teammates from the Jillaroos and my coaches that have taught me so much over the past few years".

"I've spoken to him as I get on with him pretty well", he said.

"The three games he has had for England he has been absolutely America, he came off the bench and helped turn that game around", Bennett said.

"He did not come on to my radar until this year, and did not realise he was this good".

The award is handed to the player who has had the greatest impact over the year at worldwide level, it was won in 2017 by Cameron Smith just before they beat England in the World Cup Final, and awarded by Rugby League World magazine after a ballot by rugby league global representatives.

Australia's Isabelle Kelly was named the inaugural Women's Golden Boot victor.

Latest News