Umpire calls dead ball on UP spinner’s unique 360-degree action

The incident occured on on day three of a CK Nayudu Trophy match between Bengal and Uttar Pradesh in Kalyania near Kolkata where UP’s left-arm spinner Shiva Singh sent social media into meltdown

Watch: Left-arm spinner Shiva Singh's 360-degree turn that left Bishan Singh Bedi stunned

The video of the same is already going viral and the debate has sparked up whether the umpires were right in refraining the bowler to bowl with that action. However, what must be noted here is that bowler did not switch his bowling arm.

He was playing against Bengal in the CK Nayudu Trophy - a four-day domestic tournament for under-23s - when he ran in to bowl. The ball pitched just wide of leg stump and the batsman blocked it out on the leg side.

On-field umpire Vinod Seshan instantly called a dead call, much to the bemusement of the left-arm spinner, who earlier this year was a member of the Indian squad who won the under-19 World Cup. "But when bowlers do something like this it's deemed a dead ball".

Unless it is outlawed, Singh is expected to keep the delivery in his bowling repertoire. "No Issue at all with this", Michael Vaughan tweeted.

"Vaughan joked about Singh's decision to twirl, referencing Len Goodman - a judge on England's version of Dancing With The Stars - by ending his tweet "#Itsa10fromLen".

Law No. 20.4.2.7 states that the ball is called dead when there is an instance of a deliberate attempt to distract under either of Laws 41.4 (Deliberate attempt to distract striker) or 41.5 (Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman). "Consequently, it was for the umpire to decide if he felt that the tactic was done as an attempt to distract the striker", the MCC laws department said in the post.

'I delivered this 360-degree ball (recently) against Kerala in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as well, where it was fine'.

"Firstly, the Laws don't dictate what a bowler's run-up should look like".

"The law goes on to add that only if the 360-degree twirl should be part of the bowler's run-up for every delivery, then can the umpire step in to deem if the action was done to distract the batsman".

Latest News