"If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it", it wrote.
We've all fired off a cringeworthy message and then spent the rest of our lives wishing we'd thought a bit harder before pressing the send button.
Yet users will need to be quick as Facebook are giving those wanting to retrieve their messages just 10 minutes to do so.
Well don't worry, because Mark Zuckerberg has come to the rescue.
In addition to saying it would no longer be deleting execs' messages, Facebook said the unsend feature would be rolling out to all users at a later date. The Messenger version only allows you ten minutes, which isn't much time to question whether contacting your ex was such a good idea.
Other messaging services, including Facebook's own WhatsApp, have the same option, though it gives users an hour to delete any embarrassing/drunken/threatening communications.
One of Gmail's best features is the ability to unsend emails. It doesn't actually send the email until it passes that buffer time.
Users of the popular messaging site and app will be given the opportunity to delete a message after it has been sent.
Have you ever sent a message and immediately regretted it?