Hall of Fame quest begins for Chiefs great Tony Gonzalez


2012 Matt May Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Former Packers coach Mike Holmgren, receiver Sterling Sharpe, and safeties LeRoy Butler and Nick Collins are among the 102 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019. To this day, Mitchell holds National Football League records for most total return yards, most all-purpose yards in a single decade, combined return yards in the postseason, and many other return records.

These Modern-era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and then cut to 15 finalists in January until the official selection takes place before the Super Bowl.

This year's compilation includes 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, and five special teamers. Senior Finalist Johnny Robinson, who spent his entire career with the Texans/Chiefs franchise from 1960-71, and Contributor Finalists Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt will also be included in the voting.

Fletcher, a fan-favorite and a longtime captain, played the last seven years of his career in Washington, where he was a Pro Bowler for four straight seasons from 2009-2012. The selection committee will meet on February 2, 2019, at the Super Bowl in Atlanta to elect the class. Four-to-eight new members will be selected.

But now they can celebrate a recent Pro Football Hall of Fame update. The Class of 2019 will be announced during the "NFL Honors" nationally broadcast award show that evening.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony will be held next August in Canton, Ohio.

Latest News