Bihar legislative council polls: Nitish Kumar, Sushil Modi named candidates

Commandos outside 10 Circular Road in Patna

Commandos outside 10 Circular Road in Patna

Those who filed nominations included Dr Mahendra Singh, Mohsin Raza, both ministers, Dr Sarojani Agarwal, Yashwant Singh, Thakur Jaiveer Singh, Bukkal Nawab (all Samajwadi Party rebel MLCs who had joined the BJP) and Ashok Kataria, Ashok Dhawan, Vijay Bahadur Pathak and Vidhya Sagar Sonkar.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi are among those who have been named as candidates for the upcoming Legislative Council (MLC) elections scheduled to be held in Bihar on May 6.

Opposition Congress leader Prem Chand Mishra also filed nomination papers on Monday after his party which is part of the Rashtriya Janata Dal-led Grand Alliance along with Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) - announced his name on Sunday.

Last week, the Election Commission had declared dates for biennial election to 11 seats of the Bihar Legislative Council falling vacant on May 6.

Other prominent members whose terms are to expire on May 6 are CM Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Rabri Devi and Health Minister Mangal Pandey.

The nominations submitted by the parties would be scrutinised on Tuesday.

If no other candidate, apart from those who have already filed their papers, enters the fray, the results for all the 11 seats could be declared after 3 pm on April 19, he added.

For winning a council seat, a candidate needs 21 votes. As per numerical strength in Bihar Legislative Assembly, RJD can send its four candidates, JD (U) and BJP three candidates each and Congress can send one candidate to the upper house.

Latest News