Weak Congress trying for RS seat in Telangana!

Narayan Rane has got BJP's support for Rajya Sabha seat

Narayan Rane has got BJP's support for Rajya Sabha seat

The Congress denied a renomination to former Union minister K Rahman Khan from Karnataka, Satyavrat Chaturvedi from MP, Rajani Patil and Rajeev Shukla from Maharashtra and former state president Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu from Jharkhand. L.Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and G.C. Chandrashekar-for the 23 March Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka in what seems to be a carefully planned caste balance strategy from the party.

BJP had earlier fielded Arun Jaitley, Dr. Ashok Vajpayee, Sakaldeep Rajbhar, Dr. Anil Jain, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Kanta Kardam Jatav, GVL Narsimharao and Harinath Singh Yadav.

RJD on Sunday announced candidates for two of the six seats of Rajya Sabha from Bihar for which election is scheduled to be held on March 23.

There is a likelihood of 28 votes of the BJP which would be left after the division of votes amongst its eight candidates, being transferred to Agarwal.

The Congress and BJP announced the list of candidates only yesterday. Monday was the last date for filing the nominations.

Seven candidates, including Valera and Rana, have filed nominations for four seats falling vacant from the state.

BJP strategists are eyeing disgruntled elements in the Samajwadi party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BJP) along with the Congress in order to facilitate its ninth candidate to win.

The other distinguishing features of the Rajya Sabha nominations from Bihar this year are that there are no "outsider" candidates and no Dalit or backward caste candidate. Going by this statistic, if MLAs of both the parties vote as per their party whip, both Congress and BJP are poised to win two seats each. But will the Congress manage to fight anti-incumbency in the one of the few states it governs in India following the Modi wave?

All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday confirmed that his party would support Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the upcoming elections to the Rajya Sabha from Telangana.

In Andhra Pradesh, TDP candidates C.M. Ramesh and Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar filed their nominations papers. The Congress, which has 120 MLAs, can send at least two MPs with 45 votes each.

Latest News