Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo elected as CM Balochistan

Balochistan Assembly elects CM today

Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

The Balochistan Assembly has gotten rid of its chief minister by threatening him with a vote of no-confidence that forced him to resign. He rarely met his cabinet, which is nearly all of the provincial assembly because tribal "equality" demanded that all of them be made ministers equipped with protocol and the luxury of state funds.

Members of the Balochistan Assembly are all set to elect the new leader of the house today with Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, the opposition-treasury consensus candidate, enjoying enough support to become the new chief minister of Balochistan.

Bizenjo was elected as MPA from Awaran after receiving only 544 votes from the constituency.

Bizenjo was voted in as the third chief minister in four years.

The sardars lack all sense of proportion because there are no limits to their personal power.

The contest was held between Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate Bizenjo and Pashtunkhuwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) member Agha Liaquat. A number of ministers had resigned following the motion submitted against Chief Minister Sanaullah Zehri.

National Party had not nominated any candidate neither announced support for any. Except Zehri, all the remaining legislators also voted for Bizenjo.

Speaking to reporters, Bizenjo said that he will come up to the expectations of the parties who have expressed their confidence in him.

Born in 1974, Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo completed his initial education in his native town of Shindi located in remote Awaran tehsil, and secured a Master's degree in English from the University of Balochistan in 2000.

The new CM had took part in the general elections from Awaraan (PP-41) on the ticket of PML-Q, which faced historic defeat in all other provinces.

During the Senate election in 2015, Speaker Jan Muhammad Jamali quit the ruling PML-N and tendered his resignation from his post just before a no-trust motion was tabled against him.

The session of the house was headed by speaker Raheela Durrani.

Zehri had also been advised by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to step down as chief minister in order to defuse the political crisis.

The PML-N has 21 members in the provincial assembly, out of which 19 members are said to be supporting Bizenjo.

Latest News